Canon 1DX Mark II vs Nikon D5 - Preview

Featured Tuesday, 02 February 2016 06:21

The Canon EOS-1DX Mark II & how it compares to the Nikon D5 - and why I think Nikon will revise the D5 price and specs before launch.

Share:

3 comments

  • Comment Link Manoel Tuesday, 02 February 2016 12:46 posted by Manoel

    What about the DR? Sure that the canon is worst.

    Report
  • Comment Link Dan Thursday, 04 February 2016 14:11 posted by Dan

    The Nikon has 153 autofocus points vs. around 60 for Canon. This is huge. Also, it will be great to see how the image quality compares at various ISOs.

    Report
  • Comment Link Mike Kovitch Thursday, 04 February 2016 18:16 posted by Mike Kovitch

    Thanks for the review comparing the upcoming D5 and 1Dx Mark II. Of course, I'll be more interested in hands on tests with both once available. Thanks for wetting our appetite in the meantime. It matters not which one your subscribers prefer as long as they are happy with their choice. As a retired person I cannot afford these high end cameras, so will only be able to drool and say, "Boy, those sure are nice. Now let me find a good used Mark III that I can use with my years of collecting very expensive Canon L lenses." I appreciate the fact that you no longer want everyone to lean toward the Nikon just because that's your preference. Alternatives are always good for the consumer and I look forward to your future reviews on both cameras as well as your Hong Kong photos, no matter which camera you use to shoot them.

    Report

Leave a comment

Sony a6400 Complete Auto Focus, ISO & Time Lapse Testing

Sony a6400 Complete Auto Focus, ISO & Time Lapse Testing

Sunday, 03 February 2019 13:51

Sony claim the a6400 has the 'Worlds Fastest Autofocus' - and my first video split people - so here is my COMPLETE AF testing.

Read more...
3 Stop ND Filters Compared - $5 to $180

3 Stop ND Filters Compared - $5 to $180

Monday, 28 January 2019 21:41

Huge range in sharpness, color and vignetting on these 3 stop filters...

Read more...
50mm Showdown - f1.1 to f1.4 - $350 to $4,000 - M Mount

50mm Showdown - f1.1 to f1.4 - $350 to $4,000 - M Mount

Sunday, 20 January 2019 10:20

Comparing the 7 Artisans f1.1 $350 lens to the f1.1 Voigtlander, f1.4 Nikkor (adapted) and the $4,000 f1.4 Leica Summilux.

Read more...
10 Stop ND Filters Compared - $10 to $360

10 Stop ND Filters Compared - $10 to $360

Wednesday, 02 January 2019 22:54

I compare 15 filters, with a range of prices from $10 to $360 - and a big variation in build quality, color cast, sharpness and vignetting - it is worth seeing some real world results before buying anything.I compare 15 filters, with a range of prices from $10 to $360 - and a big variation in build quality, color cast, sharpness and vignetting - it is worth seeing some real world results before buying anything.

Read more...
Best & Worst of 2018 - Cameras, lenses, trends & more...

Best & Worst of 2018 - Cameras, lenses, trends & more...

Monday, 24 December 2018 23:14

 

2018 has been an epic year with some fantastic new gear announced - and some pretty crap stuff too! In this video I take you through my picks for the best, worst and most disappointing gear and trends of the year!

Read more...
Nikon Z7 vs D850 - What should you buy?

Nikon Z7 vs D850 - What should you buy?

Monday, 03 December 2018 19:46

The D850 is the culmination of decades of SLR refinement - the Z7 is the companies first full frame mirrorless - but it costs even more!

Read more...
Fujifilm X-T3 - Complete Review - World's Best APSC Camera?

Fujifilm X-T3 - Complete Review - World's Best APSC Camera?

Monday, 26 November 2018 17:01

This thing destroys the competition in many ways - GH5 beaten for video and ergonomics and the fuji optics are up there with the best of full frame!

Read more...
Canon EOS R - Studio Portraiture Review

Canon EOS R - Studio Portraiture Review

Sunday, 28 October 2018 12:32

The good, The Bad, and the Stupid....

Read more...
Nikon Z lenses - are they better than F Mount?

Nikon Z lenses - are they better than F Mount?

Saturday, 27 October 2018 12:47

Nikon has been promoting the larger diameter and shorter flange distance of the Z mount, and how this will allow more lens designs, easier design, better optics, faster AF and edge to edge sharpness. But are they actually better?

Read more...